Recognizing Stalwarts in the No-Till, Soil Health Movement

The 24th class of No-Till Innovators have supported the adoption of cover crops, better nutrient management, improved soil health and timely, educational events and opportunities.
Three individuals and one organization are being recognized as the 24th class of No-Till Innovators for their commitment to the advancement of no-till farming systems in North America and worldwide.

The No-Till Innovator Award program — sponsored by Calmer Corn Heads and No-Till Farmer — strives to honor farmers, researchers, businesses and services, and organizations for their work in assisting the growth of no-till practices, regardless of the types of crops or equipment used.

The 2019 honorees are:

James Hoorman — retired NRCS, Ohio State Extension educator, Research & Education
Ralph Upton Jr. — Springerton, Ill., no-tiller, Crop Production
Ray Ward — Ward Laboratories, Business & Service
South Dakota No-Till Assn. — Organization

James Hoorman — Research & Education

James Hoorman

James Hoorman is one of the most recognized experts in the agricultural industry on cover crops and soil health principles, as he’s taken his message about their benefits to conferences, field days and other events throughout the U.S. and the world.

For 25 years he served as an educator for Ohio State University Extension, specializing in soil health, cover crops, water quality, nutrient management, soil ecology, sustainability and economics. Hoorman recently worked 3 years with the NRCS as a regional soil health specialist for Ohio, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Delaware and Maryland.

Hoorman retired from the NRCS in 2019 to start his own.